Travel blogging

TS editor Shubhra Krishan got the answer from: Award-winning travel blogger Mridula Dwivedi.

Her blog Travel Tales from India has been linked at BBC and The Guardian. She has featured in a National Geographic Skoda Yeti video. With an average of 313 hits a day and counting, Professor Mridula Dwivedi is one amazing travel blogger. Get inspired!

When did you start blogging, and how/why:

I started in June 2005, inspired by my sister and brother-in-law, who were blogging even before that.

What’s unique about your blog?

I update my blog very regularly. I am also almost always travel focussed because it is easy for me to talk about travel. One of my long term readers pointed out that I hardly ever focus on myself while writing and he liked that! Another reader commented that they like my down-to-earth tone.

How do you manage to blog in addition to your regular work?

With a lot of difficulty! Since I am not constantly travelling, I have to keep writing about my past travels. I often just post a picture on my blog with a very short description. Above all, when I get too worked up about my blogging, I remind myself that I started it just for fun.

How often do you travel?

Not as often as I would like. In a good year, I might get out 7-8 times, otherwise just 4-5 times. This year my resolution is to travel every month. In January I was out twice and travelled in February as well. So far, so good!

How many hours a day do you blog?

It depends on various other things that I have to do and above all on my daughter’s mood! But I do try to post daily, even if it is just a picture. I also follow other blogs and participate in online forums. I consider that as part of maintaining my online presence.

Do you earn from your blog? How and how much (do share if you can!)

No, I work full time and do not earn substantially from my blog. I sometimes get invited to write about hotels and the destinations where they are located. For me getting invited to travel has been an unexpected perk of blogging. Other than that, there is some income from sponsored posts and the likes but not much and not steady.

Travel Secrets adds: Mridula blogs mostly for the love of it, and gets a lot of love in return. But if you want some serious money from your travel blog, check out Heather Cowper’s superb blog www.mybloggingjourney.com. Amazingly clear and helpful advice here, guaranteed to get the big bucks coming in!

3 tips for an aspiring travel blogger?

  • Blog about the things you like,otherwise chances are that you will not update your blog regularly.
  • Interacting with others is important. Blogging is not an isolated activity.
  • Be consistent: I guess it is the consistency part where many give up.

3 tips for promoting your blog?

  • The most obvious way is to interact with others by reading and commenting on their blogs.
  • Join travel message boards where you get to meet other travellers.
  • These days Twitter and Facebook are also a great way of promoting our work.

But my experience says it takes time to get established. I would not expect results overnight.

3 Places on my travel wishlist

Everest Base Camp

Valley of Flowers

Stok Kangri

All three are treks.

3 places you’ve enjoyed the most:

Barog on Kalka-Shimla Railway Line

Spiti

Oxford, UK

3 travel blogs/websites you find really interesting/useful:

http://www.gonomad.com/

http://www.indiamike.com/

 http://www.digital-photography-school.com/

Mridula: Up Close

Mridula DwivediProf. Mridula Dwivedi holds a Ph.D. in Management from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, and a Certificate of Teaching Higher Education (CTHE) from Oxford Brooks University, UK. She teaches Human Resource Management in Gurgaon. You can reach her on mridulablog@ gmail.com

Here’s one of her recent blog posts: Travel 2013 – Looking back I

For more, visit: Travel Tales from India

